Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Call NOW to Save Your Driver’s License!
  • 321-256-1141
  • 200 East Robinson Street, Suite 1140
    Orlando, FL 32801

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • linkedin
  • AVVO
Florida DUI Defense Attorney > Blog > DUI Defense > Different Types of DUI Charges in Orlando, Florida

Different Types of DUI Charges in Orlando, Florida


Those who operate a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol can be accused of various DUI-related crimes. These range from misdemeanors to 1st-degree felonies under Florida law. Whether or not someone was injured or killed in the crash determines the severity of the offenses. In this article, we’ll discuss all the different types of DUI charges you can face.

Simple DUI 

Simple DUI is the least serious offense under the law. If you have a BAC of more than .08 but less than .15, you can be charged with simple DUI. It is considered a second-degree misdemeanor under the law and punishable by up to 6 months in jail. Most don’t face jail time on their first offense.

Aggravated DUI 

An aggravated DUI can arise from a number of different conditions. If you have a BAC of .15 or above, you can be charged with aggravated DUI. Those who have a second DUI within 5 years of being charged with simple DUI can also face aggravated DUI charges. Those charged with aggravated DUI face enhanced penalties including a much larger fine, a longer probation period, and in some cases, a mandatory minimum sentence of 10 days in jail.

DUI causing property damage 

Those who cause an accident with another vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol will face a minimum charge of DUI causing property damage. The damage can either be to another vehicle or other property. DUI causing property damage or non-serious injury will be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. First-degree misdemeanors have a maximum jail sentence of one year behind bars.

DUI causing serious bodily injury 

DUI causing serious bodily injury is charged when an individual causes serious harm to another driver. The injuries must be severe enough to pose a substantial risk of death, permanent disfigurement, or the protracted loss of an organ. Broken bones are enough to trigger a DUI causing serious bodily injury offense. DUI causing serious bodily injury is considered a third-degree felony under Florida law. It can trigger a prison sentence of 5 years behind bars, substantial fines, and probation.

DUI Manslaughter 

DUI manslaughter is the most serious felony you can face for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It occurs when a drunk driver causes an accident that leads to the death of another individual. DUI manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony under the law. Second-degree felonies have a maximum sentence of 15 years behind bars, a recommended sentence of 10 years behind bars, and a minimum of 4 years behind bars. If the driver is accused of fleeing the scene of an accident involving death, they can be charged with a first-degree felony. A first-degree felony has a maximum sentence of 30 years.

Talk to an Orlando, FL DUI Attorney Today 

FL DUI Group represents the interests of those who have been charged with serious DUI offenses. Call our Florida DUI defense lawyers today to schedule an appointment, and we can begin discussing your defense strategy immediately.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn