Florida DUI Penalties Attorney
A drunk driving conviction can result in serious financial penalties and a significant disruption in one’s life, and even the possibility of jail time. Penalties are severe for even a first offense, and they get much harsher if the defendant has previous convictions.
A DUI conviction can impact your life beyond the criminal penalties imposed. Having a criminal record can hurt your chances to get the job you want, get or keep a professional license, obtain housing and credit, and more. You could lose your job after a DUI, especially if driving is a central component of your job duties. Your personal life at home and your reputation in the community can also suffer. For these reasons and more, it is important to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney to handle your case. You may have options to avoid a trial or conviction, to have charges reduced or dismissed, or to accept conditions much more favorable than you would receive with a guilty plea. Learn about the many possible Florida DUI penalties below, and contact FL DUI Group for a free case evaluation if you’ve been arrested for DUI in Orlando or central Florida.
Florida first offense DUI
- Fines from $500 to $1,000
- Up to six months in jail or treatment
- Driver’s license suspension from 180 days to one year
- Vehicle impounded for 10 days unless the family has no other means of transportation
- 50 hours of community service or a payment of $10/hour in lieu of performing community service
Florida second offense DUI
- Fines from $1,000 to $2,000
- Up to nine months in jail, including a mandatory ten-day sentence (including at least 48 consecutive hours) if the second offense occurred within five years of the first conviction
- Five-year driver’s license suspension. Can be reduced to one year on a hardship reinstatement
- Vehicle impounded for 30 days unless the family has no other means of transportation
Florida third offense DUI
- Fines from $2,000 to $5,000
- Up to five years in prison, including a mandatory 30-day sentence (including at least 48 consecutive hours) if the third offense occurred within ten years of the second conviction
- Ten-year driver’s license suspension. Can be reduced to two years on a hardship reinstatement
- Vehicle impounded for 90 days unless the family has no other means of transportation
Florida fourth offense DUI
- At least $2,000 in fines
- Up to 5 years in prison
- Lifetime Driver’s license revocation. Can be reduced to a five-year suspension on a hardship reinstatement
Getting your license reinstated due to hardship requires going to DUI school and also installing and maintaining an Ignition Interlock Device on your vehicle at your own expense.
Florida DUI Penalty Enhancements
The penalties described above can be enhanced if you are arrested with a minor in the vehicle or if your BAC registers at .15% or more. These enhancements include:
- Up to nine months in jail for a first offense or up to 12 months for a second offense
- Fines from $1,000 to $2,000 for a first offense, from $2,000 to $4,000 for a second, and at least $4,000 for a third offense.
Felony DUI in Florida
DUI is normally a second-degree misdemeanor offense carrying a maximum penalty of six months in jail on a first offense. There are many ways, however, in which a DUI may be charged as a felony offense. Felonies are judged much more harshly than misdemeanors in the law and in society. Not only can you be sentenced to up to five years in prison on a third-degree felony, but you can be disqualified from many fields of employment and professional licenses or lose your current job upon a felony conviction. Circumstances creating the possibility of being charged with felony DUI in Florida include:
- Being charged with a third DUI within the last ten years
- Being charged with a fourth DUI over a lifetime
- Causing serious bodily injury, disfigurement or serious organ injury while driving under the influence
- Causing death to a living person or unborn child while driving under the influence.
Most DUI felonies are third-degree felonies. Causing a death, however, is DUI manslaughter and is charged as a second-degree felony, punishable by as many as 15 years in prison.
Call FL DUI Group for Smart, Strong and Successful DUI Defense in Florida
For a free case evaluation after a DUI arrest in Orlando or central Florida, call FL DUI Group at 321-256-1141, and speak to skilled and aggressive Florida DUI defense attorney.