Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
FL DUI GROUP Florida DUI Defense Attorney
  • Call NOW to Save Your Driver’s License!

Florida Man Accused of Causing 6-Vehicle Crash While Drunk


A Florida man has been accused of causing a six-vehicle crash while operating his vehicle under the influence of alcohol. According to police, the man did not stop for traffic in front of him while trying to change lanes. The defendant struck the vehicle in front of him causing a chain reaction causing that vehicle to strike other cars. The defendant continued to drive away from the scene of the crash and subsequently struck another vehicle.

The defendant has been charged with DUI causing property damage. He can face one charge each for every vehicle that was impacted by the collision. Police also believe that he attempted to flee the scene of the accident. So he will likely be charged with that as well. Luckily, no one was seriously injured in the crash, but one of the individuals suffered minor injuries.

DUI causing property damage or non-life-threatening injury 

Florida rules create enhanced penalties for those who cause property damage while operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In these cases, police can charge you with DUI causing property damage or non-life-threatening injury. Those who do cause serious injuries can be charged with a felony. However, DUI causing property damage is considered a first-degree misdemeanor. Misdemeanors have maximum jail sentences of one year behind bars. But most individuals do not face jail time for misdemeanor infractions. However, they are required to make restitution to the victims, and in this case, the driver can be charged with 6 individual counts, one for each vehicle that was damaged in the crash.

Penalties for DUI causing property damage 

The crime of DUI causing property damage is considered a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida. Someone convicted under the statute can face:

  • 1 year in jail, 1 year of probation
  • A minimum of 6 months driver’s license suspension and a maximum of 12 months
  • A fine between $500 and $1,000
  • 10 day impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle
  • 50 hours of community service
  • Completion of a 12-hour DUI and substance abuse course
  • A psychosocial evaluation to determine whether or not the individual has an addiction problem
  • Completion of substance abuse treatment

Individuals face enhanced penalties if their BAC was over .15 or there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of the accident. They can also face enhanced penalties for attempting to flee the scene of the accident. However, in this case, the driver may argue that he was attempting to pull over and wait for the other cars to exchange insurance information. That will depend on the circumstances surrounding this case.

Talk to a Orlando, Florida DUI Attorney Today 

If you have been involved in an accident in Orlando and the police suspect you were under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you can face very serious charges in Florida, especially if you cause damage to other vehicles or property. Call the Florida DUI defense lawyers at the FL DUI Group today to schedule an appointment and we can begin discussing your options immediately.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation