Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
FL DUI GROUP Florida DUI Defense Attorney
  • Call NOW to Save Your Driver’s License!

What Happens if I’m Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident While Intoxicated?


An arrest for DUI alone has serious consequences. Those who leave the scene of a crash, however, can face even tougher penalties. This is especially true when the accident resulted in property damage, injury, or death. These consequences can alter the course of your future, remain on your record forever, and result in jail or prison time.

In Florida, the law states that you must stay at the scene of an accident. Your driver’s license must be presented to the other driver or police upon request. It is also required that you provide “reasonable assistance” to any individual who is injured by calling 911 for an ambulance.

In Florida, if you fail to render aid at the scene of an accident, you can be charged with enhanced penalties. In this article, a Florida DUI defense attorney will discuss the penalties for a DUI hit-and-run accident.

Penalties for DUI hit-and-run accidents 

In Florida, you are required to stay at the scene of an accident. There are penalties for a hit-and-run accident without DUI being involved at all. You can spend up to 60 days in jail and pay a $500 fine for leaving the scene of an accident.

When it comes to DUI charges, the penalties are enhanced when you leave the scene of an accident. You can be charged with both DUI and leaving the scene of an accident. In the event that the DUI causes death, you could face a maximum 30-year sentence for DUI manslaughter. Typically, you would face a maximum 15-year sentence for DUI manslaughter. In other words, the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident involving death is doubled when you’re under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Proving a DUI hit-and-run accident 

To prove that a hit-and-run accident occurred, prosecutors must establish that:

  • You were the driver of a vehicle crash
  • You knew or should have known that you caused an accident
  • The accident resulted in property damage, injury, or death
  • You knew or should have known that the accident caused injury or property damage
  • You willfully failed to stop after the accident
  • In case of injury, you failed to render reasonable assistance or call 911

What you should do after an accident

 After an accident, you are required by Florida law to give your name, address, and the registration number of your vehicle to the other driver. You should also provide your driver’s license to the other driver. If anyone is injured, you should call 911 immediately to ensure that they get the help they need. You must render reasonable assistance to a driver who is injured.

If you leave the scene of an accident while intoxicated, you could face double the penalties that a driver who stayed would face. Therefore, it is never a good idea to leave the scene of an accident.

Talk to an Orlando, FL DUI Attorney Today 

FL DUI Group represents the interests of those charged with DUI and hit-and-run accidents. Call our office today to schedule an appointment, and we can begin going over your options immediately.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn


By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation