Absolutely you need an attorney for your DUI case in the State of Florida. DUI is the one crime out there that’s typically, completely subjective from the law enforcement officers’ perspective. And what I mean by that is the cop’s the one that’s going to say that he was swaying, that he was slurring… Read More »
If you refuse a breath test in the state of Florida, your license is administratively suspended for a period of one year. If it’s a first offense, you’re able to get a hardship license for that period. On the criminal side, if you refuse a breath test in Florida, the prosecutor will try to… Read More »
How many hours of alcohol classes will I have to take following a drunk driving conviction in Florida?
Following any DUI conviction in the state of Florida, you’re going to be required to complete what’s called DUI School. For a first offense, DUI school lasts 12 hours, and for a second or subsequent DUI conviction, DUI school last 21 hours. So you’re required to complete one of those courses depending on if… Read More »
A DRE is known as a drug recognition expert. These are law enforcement officers that have been to two weeks of training and are designed to be able to determine whether or not someone’s under the influence of a chemical controlled substance. So with two weeks of training, they’re supposed to be able to… Read More »
The cost to hire an attorney in a DUI case in the state of Florida varies on the facts of the case. Typically, for a routine DUI case fees can get as low as $2500 or so for a first time misdemeanor DUI with nothing aggregating. Then obviously if it’s a felony DUI or… Read More »
An ignition interlock device is a device that’s installed to the ignition of your car, where you would have to provide a breath sample into the device in order for you to start your car. It’s typically designed for people that have been convicted of certain DUI offenses where the courts want to make… Read More »
A criminal conviction for DUI in the state of Florida can affect you in many ways other than the criminal sanctions. There’s required special insurance that you’re required to carry, if you’re convicted of DUI, for a certain period of time. It can be expensive. There’s obviously the criminal conviction on your record that… Read More »
Blood alcohol content or level in simplistic terms is the amount of alcohol in your bloodstream. In the state of Florida, there is a presumption of a 0.08, so if your blood alcohol was above a 0.08 in the state of Florida, you are presumed guilty of DUI.
Even though you pass the breath test, in the state of Florida the law is that the breath test has to occur after you were previously arrested for DUI. Even though you pass the breath test after you were arrested it doesn’t affect the fact that you’re under arrest for DUI and will be… Read More »
The difference between a misdemeanor and a felony DUI in the state of Florida, there’s 2 instances where there could be a difference. The first instance is when it comes to prior offenses. If you’ve been convicted twice in the past, of a DUI, there are instances where a third offense can be considered… Read More »