Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident to Avoid a DUI
Getting a DUI is never a fun experience. Florida levies major penalties on those who are caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. However, your situation can become much worse if you flee the scene of an accident involving a DUI. The penalties can have a profound impact on your future. In this article, the Florida DUI attorneys at FL DUI Group will discuss the penalties for fleeing the scene of an accident while driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Accidents while under the influence of alcohol
Florida levies more serious penalties when a driver gets into an accident under the influence of alcohol. At a minimum, you are facing a charge of DUI with property damage. You could also face charges of DUI causing serious bodily injury, and in the worst case scenario, you can be charged with DUI manslaughter.
Florida law also states that when an accident occurs, you must stay at the scene of the accident or as near as possible to the scene of the accident. It is considered a separate criminal offense if you fail to do so. The law requires that you display your driver’s license to the other driver or a law enforcement officer upon request. The law further states that you must render “reasonable assistance” to any individual who is injured in the accident. This generally involves calling an ambulance for the injured driver.
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Florida
Even without a DUI, a driver can face serious penalties for leaving the scene of an accident. Fines range anywhere from $500 to $10,000 if someone is fatally injured. An individual can spend anywhere between 60 days in jail to 30 years in state prison. If alcohol or drugs were involved in a hit-and-run accident, the defendant can spend an additional 6 months behind bars. If there was a fatality involved and you fled the scene of an accident, you can spend 30 years in Florida state prison for the crime of DUI manslaughter and fleeing the scene of an accident.
Other fines and penalties may be levied against a driver who flees the scene of an accident while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. These include:
- The suspension or revocation of your driver’s license
- Mandatory attendance to a substance abuse program
- The Installation of an interlock ignition device
- Community service
Those who face these penalties will have to pay money out of their own pocket. You will have to pay for any substance abuse program you are required to attend as a penalty for your DUI. You will also be required to pay for the installation of the interlock ignition device. This is in addition to any fines that are levied by the court.
Talk to an Orlando, FL DUI Attorney Today
The Orlando DUI lawyers at FL DUI Group have helped hundreds of individuals negotiate settlements with the court and defeat charges related to DUI. Call our office today to schedule an appointment, and we can begin discussing your defense right away.